Northminster Staff

CZ (2 of 16).jpeg

Claire began at Northminster in 2018 after serving as children's pastor at Lake Shore Baptist Church in Waco, TX, where she was also ordained. She holds an M.Div from George W. Truett Theological Seminary and a B.A. in Religious Studies and English from Stetson University.

Senior Co-Pastor

Claire Helton

CZ (12 of 16).jpeg

Zachary began at Northminster in 2018. Previously he served as the youth pastor at Lake Shore Baptist Church in Waco, TX, where he was also ordained. He holds an M.Div. from George W. Truett Theological Seminary, and a B.A.  in documentary filmmaking and theatre from the University of Alabama. 

Senior Co-Pastor

Zachary Helton

Dr. Chandler accepted the call to service as Director of Music in 2006. She has a rich experience of leadership in church music, having served as the Minister of Music for 18 years in a Presbyterian church in Tallahassee, Florida. She holds a Ph.D. in conducting from Florida State University and is presently on the faculty of the University of Louisiana at Monroe as Director of Choral Activities. Additionally, Debi directs the Concert Choir, the University Chorale and the Chamber Singers. She is musical director and conductor for the Monroe Symphony Orchestra Chorus and host of Limelight and Vocal Vibes on KEDM radio.

Director of Music

Dr. Deborah Chandler

D.H. is a founding member of Northminster and began serving as the church as Director of Music in 1997. He recently retired from a long career as a physician with the Women's Clinic of Monroe-West Monroe, and has served as organist/director of music at Parkview Baptist Church, First United Methodist Church, and St. Paul's United Methodist Church in Monroe. During his military service, he served as organist at the base chapel at Scott Air Force Base in St. Louis. Dr. Clark is the founder of the Masterworks Chorus, Monroe's community chorus, and was its music director for 12 years. 

Organist and Musician in Residence

Dr. D.H. Clark

Justin Havard is an accomplished director, pianist, and singer who has spent the last 13 years making music in the Tampa Bay area.  Originally from Mobile, Alabama, he received his Bachelors and Masters Degrees in Choral Music Education from Florida State University with an emphasis on Piano. He was the collaborative pianist for the Florida All-State Men’s Choir in 2017 and 2018, and he has played for many national tours including The Book of Mormon, Wicked, and Spamalot. Mr. Havard is particularly known for his work with Acapella Groups and Musical Theatre, and he has presented at both the Florida Music Educators’ Association Conference and the Florida State Thespian Conference.  He has worked as a music director for theatrical productions both equity and amateur, and his theatrical work at the high school level is well-known in the state.  

Pianist, Music Associate

Justin Havard

Renee joined the Northminster staff in 2016. She is a graduate of ULM with a B.A. in Criminal Justice, and served as an Investigator for the District Attorney's Office, and a Narcotics Investigator for the Morehouse Parish Sheriff's Department (MPSO). She was a founding member of the Louisiana Sheriff's Associations Narcotics Task Force as well as the MPSO Narcotics Division and the North Louisiana Drug Enforcement Bureau. After leaving law enforcement, Renee worked sixteen years with International Paper where she served as the Louisiana Mill's Export Shipment Planner before the mill's closure in 2009. Since that time she has been partially retired, enjoying some free time and traveling

Administrative Assistant

Renee Decker

Dr. Gaddy served as senior pastor of Northminster for over 24 years, retiring in 2016. Author of over 20 books, he is also the former president of the Interfaith Alliance in Washington DC. Weekly, Dr. Gaddy hosts State of Belief, a radio show and podcast on the place of religion in the life of the United States. Dr. Gaddy is recognized as a leading advocate for protecting the boundaries between religion and government. Dr. Gaddy received his undergraduate degree from Union University in Tennessee and his doctoral degree and divinity training from the Southern Baptist Theological Seminary in Louisville, Kentucky.

Among his many leadership roles, he is a past President of the Alliance of Baptists. He has been a member of the Commission of Christian Ethics of the Baptist World Alliance for over two decades. His past leadership roles include serving as a member of the General Council of the Cooperative Baptist Fellowship, President of Americans United for Separation of Church and State, Chair of the Pastoral Leadership Commission of the Baptist World Alliance and member of the World Economic Forum’s Council of 100.

Pastor Emeritus

Dr. C. Welton Gaddy

Lay Leadership


 Scott Higginbotham 

Mara Loeb - C

Julia Wilhite - S

Anita Breen

Craig Henry - VC

Judy Gaddy


Robert Crawford* - VC

Scott Higginbotham - S

Peggy Burns

Mark Windham**

Charles Creech - C

Tim Jaquess

*Unexpired term of Mike Cappel

**Unexpired term of Jamie Parker


Susan Roberts

Cayce Roberts

Welton Gaddy

Julia Wilhite - S

Craig Henry - C

Laura Duke - VC

Peggy Burns

Jo Ann Alley

Family Ministries

Sandy Harrington - S

Marsha McGee

Pat Hayes - C

David Culp

Ellen Yeldell

Hannah Clark*

*Unexpired term of P. Cappel


Kyle Gregory - C

Sherry Free* 

Laura Duke - VC

Charles Creech - S

Claire Carrington

Ken McKenzie

*Unexpired term of Brian Evans

Coordinating Council

The Coordinating Council is a nine person governing body, headed by an elected Chair who serves as the Chief Executive Officer of the church. The Council leads the church in a fellowship of worship, witness, education, ministry, and missions. The Council also manages the business and financial affairs of the church, as well as other matters the congregation delegates to it.  Members are elected for a three year term.  

D.H. Clark - S

Term expires 12/20

Marilyn Decker*

Term expires 12/20

Ellen Prather

Term expires 12/22

Page Atkins

Term expires 12/21

Bill Kight

Term expires 12/21

Carol Ann Tubbs - VC

Term expires 12/21

Peggy Burns - C

Term expires 12/22

David Culp

Term expires 12/22

Patti Pate

Term expires 12/22

* Unexpired term of Jamie Parker


Page Atkins - C

David Culp

Cynthia Rodriguez - S

Ray Roberson - VC

Elvis Stelly

Debbie O'Neal


Bill Kight

Larry Prather - VC

Hannah Clark - C

Al Peterson

Susan Curry - S

Robert Crawford


Bobbye Legan - C

Marilyn Decker  - S

Marissa Jaquess

Hannah Clark*

Carol Ann Tubbs - VC

Sandy Harrington

*Unexpired term of P. Cappel


Ellen Prather* - C 

Mara Loeb - VC 

Ray Roberson - S

Carol Ann Tubbs

Mark Windham

Arturo Rodriguez

*Unexpired term of  J. Denison


 Mark Windham*

Patti Pate  - C

Mary Delancy 

Marilyn Decker** - VC

Brian Evans - S

Tim Jaquess

*Unexpired term of B Evans

 **Unexpired term of J Alley

Northminster Church

2701 Lamy Lane

Monroe, LA 71201


  • facebook-square